A backup set becomes orphaned when the backup set settings are lost from the DS-Client database and the backup data still exists in the DS-System. This can occur when the DS-Client database is deleted, corrupted, or overwritten with an older version. Orphaned backup sets are detected during Daily Admin or Weekly Admin activities. You must recover an orphaned backup set before you can perform backup and restore activities on the backup set.
When you run a backup for the first time for a backup set, DS-Client retrieves all the selected files and folders from the backup source and sends them to DS-System. All the information related to those files and folders (files headers and directories descriptors) is saved both in the DS-Client database and in the DS-System online storage.
When you run subsequent backups, DS-Client checks if the files previously backed up are available on the source. If they are not available, the corresponding entries will be updated with a special flag in the DS-Client database. This information (related to deleted files and folders) is not sent to DS-System. When you install a second DS-Client for DR purposes using the same CRI info as the original DS-Client, these files will not be deleted from source information when you recover the orphaned backup sets. You must recover the dsclient and dsdelta database (run a daily or weekly admin on the production DS-Client), and then restore the dsclient and dsdelta databases to the DR DS-Client. The restore wizard will show exactly the same info in both DS-Clients when you restore an orphaned backup set.
To recover an orphaned backup set:
1.On the Setup menu, click System Activities.
2.Beside Repair DS-Client Database, click Repair.
3.In the Repair DS-Client dialog box, select Orphaned backup sets, and then click OK.
4.In the Backup Set Recovery dialog box, select the backup set that you want to recover.
NOTE:  Orphaned Microsoft 365 backup sets are displayed under a blank server name in the selection tree in the and in the Backup Sets tree. The name of the backup set will be recovered after migration.
5.If you are prompted to provide information on the orphaned backup set, click Set Info. In the Recovery Info dialog box, do the following:
a)In the Owner box, select the owner of the backup set. By default, the user account that you have used to log on to the DS-Client is the owner of the recovered backup set.
b)In the Network provider box, select the network provider for the backup set.
c)Click Save.
6.In the Backup Set Recovery dialog box, click Recover. The backup set is recreated in the DS-Client database and synchronized.
NOTE:  You can now perform restore activities on the recovered backup set to an alternate location.
7.If you want to perform restore activities on the recovered backup set to the original location, you must manually reconfigure the backup set properties as follows:
a)On the Backup Sets tab, select the recovered backup set. On the Sets menu, point to Backup Sets, and then click Properties.
b)In the Set Properties dialog box, on the Share tab (Windows) or Connection Options tab (Linux), specify the credentials to access the backup source, and then click Apply.
8.If you want to perform backup activities on the recovered backup set, you must do one of the following:
Migrate the backup set (see “Migrating a backup set”) and then activate the backup set (see “Activating or suspending a backup set”).
Manually reconfigure the backup set properties as follows:
a)On the Backup Sets tab, select the recovered backup set. On the Sets menu, point to Backup Sets, and then click Properties.
b)In the Set Properties dialog box, on the Share tab (Windows) or Connection Options tab (Linux), specify the credentials to access the backup source, and then click Apply.
c)On the Items tab, click Edit, specify the items to back up, and then click Apply.
d)To assign a schedule to the backup set, on the Schedule tab, select Scheduled, select the schedule in the Available schedules list, and then click Apply.
e)To assign a retention rule to the backup set, on the Retention tab, select Use a specific retention rule, select the retention rule in the list, and then click Apply.
f)Click OK.
g)Activate the backup set (see “Activating or suspending a backup set”).