By default, the DS-Client database is backed up by the Daily and Weekly Admin processes. There are several scenarios that might require you to recover the DS-Client database, including:
Replacing the DS-Client machine
Recovering a corrupted DS-Client database
Migrating the DS-Client to another machine
Reinstalling the DS-Client software after an operating system or hard disk failure
IMPORTANT:  Before upgrading to a newer version of the DS-Client, you must install the same DS-Client software version and hotfix level that was installed on the original DS-Client, and then recover the DS-Client database.
When you perform a DS-Client database recovery, the recovered database contains the data up to the time of its last backup. On startup, the DS-Client checks if the database number is compatible with the executable. If it is not, the DS-Client service stops or runs in a suspended mode that prevents connection or activity. If this occurs, check the operating system event log for details. Apply the missing patches up to the database build number you require.
For Grid DS-Clients, any node that has a lower software version than what is compatible with the current database build is auto-upgraded immediately after the DS-Client service starts.
NOTE:  If you do not have a DS-Client database backup, you must recover each backup set that is on the DS-System individually to recreate the database. You will not be able to recover the backup schedules or any of the logs. Do not create any new backup sets until you finish reconstructing the DS-Client database to the point it can synchronize successfully with the DS-System. For more information, see “Synchronizing a backup set”.
To recover the DS-Client database:
1.Install an operating system supported by the DS-Client and recreate the user accounts, including the DS-Client service account.
2.Install the same DS-Client software version that was installed on the original DS-Client computer and apply the latest hotfixes for that version.
3.Start the DS-Client service and connect with the DS-User.
4.Verify the DS-Client database patch level as follows:
a)On the Help menu, click About DS-User, and then click DS-Client Info.
b)In the DS-Client Version Info dialog box, check the Database Build value. You need to compare this value with the one that appears after recovering the database.
5.On the Setup menu, click System Activities.
6.Beside Repair DS-Client Database, click Repair.
7.In the Repair DS-Client dialog box, do one of the following:
To recover the last backed up version of the dsclient and dsdelta databases, select DS-Client & delta databases, and then click OK.
NOTE:  The delta database contains delta information for all files and can only be recovered on Windows DS-Clients. If the database cannot be recovered, the DS-Client sends a new master on the next backup, which can significantly increase the time of the backup process.
To recover the last backed up version of the dsclient database, select DS-Client database, and then click OK.
IMPORTANT:  You existing database will be replaced. This operation cannot be undone.
8.To activate the recovered database, stop and restart the DS-Client service.
9.Run a Weekly Admin process. For more information, see “Running administrative processes on demand”.
10.Check the Event Log to ensure that no data exists on the DS-System that is not in the DS-Client database. If more data exists, you must synchronize the affected backup sets before any further backup or restore activities can be performed. For more information, see “Synchronizing a backup set”.
NOTE:  If the recovered DS-Client database data is missing backup sets, you must recover the orphaned backup sets. For more information, see “Recovering an orphaned backup set”.
11.Change the ownership of the backup sets. For more information, see “Changing the ownership of a backup set”.
NOTE:  If you see two users with the same name it is because the DS‑Client searches by Security ID (SID). Select the lower one because the current user is closest to the bottom of the list.
12.On the Help menu, click About DS-User, and then click DS-Client Info. Verify the DS-Client’s database patch levels again.
IMPORTANT:  When you recover a DS-Client database, any configuration changes made after the last database backup must be manually reapplied.